

# **Council Year 2011/2012**

# <u>Schedule of Group Nominations, including proposed</u> appointments to the Cabinet by the Leader

**Notes:** (1) Where the number of members of a body is variable, the optional additional member number is bracketed - please see the accompanying paper on the application of the political balance rules where the different options are considered.

(2) Substitutes are allowed where indicated. The Council's Constitution requires that these be named and appointed at the Annual meeting. A number equal to the number of committee members from a Group up to a maximum of 3 are allowed for that Group unless stated otherwise.

**CABINET** (Leader of the Council plus 5 additional members of the controlling group). The formal appointment of the 5 members (other than the Leader) is to be made by the Leader following his/her appointment by the full Council. Although the Council has previously determined that the size of the Cabinet shall be between 4 and 6 in total it is open to the Leader to recommend the Council to agree a different size. The law requires that the Cabinet shall have at least 3 but not more than 10 members (including the Leader).

Leader of the Council: Tutt Responsibilities aligned with Chief Executive and including the Community Strategy, Local Strategic Partnership, the Corporate Plan and economic development.
Deputy Leader: Mattock Financial services including accountancy, audit, purchasing and payments.
Bannister Direct assistance services including revenues and benefits, housing and community development, bereavement services and the Crime Reduction Partnership.
Stanley Commercial and recreational services including sport and leisure, theatres, tourism, events and Devonshire Park, galleries and museums..
Tester Core support and strategic services.
Wallis Place services including cleansing and recycling, parks and Downland, engineering, building and development control, planning

policy and strategy, environmental health and licensing.

# **OPPOSITION "SHADOW CABINET"** (Notification for information)

1	<b>Opposition Leader: Elkin</b> (to shadow Chief Executive aligned responsibilities(including economic development) and also financial services.
2	<b>Deputy Leader: Howlett</b> (to shadow core support and strategic services)
3	<b>Ede</b> (cleansing and recycling, parks and Downland and engineering).
4	<b>Jenkins</b> (building and development control, planning policy and strategy, environmental health and licensing).
5	<b>Liddiard</b> (commercial and recreational services including tourism).
6	West (direct assistance services including community).

#### **COMMITTEES**

**Scrutiny Committee** (7 members, not members of the Cabinet or the Mayor. Chairman to be appointed from the largest opposition group. and Deputy Chairman from the controlling group.

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	D/Ch: Shuttleworth	5	Ch: Goodyear
2	Ungar	6	Belsey
3	Thompson	7	Cooke
4	Coles	Substitutes:	
Subs	titutes:	1	Warner
1	Murray	2	Jenkins
2	Harris		

<u>Planning Committee</u> (12 trained Councillors - not Cabinet members. 8 as members of the Committee and 4 as substitutes).

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Ungar	6	Taylor
2	D/Ch: Harris	7	West
3	Hearn	8	Jenkins
4	Murray	Sub	stitutes:
5	Miah	1	Liddiard
Sub	stitutes:	2	Howlett
1	Coles		
2	Heaps		

<u>Licensing Act and General Licensing Committees</u> (Between 10 and 15 trained Members (13 proposed for 2011/12) – not Cabinet members).

	Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Thompson	8	Taylor	
2	D/Ch: Shuttleworth	9	Murdoch	
3	Murray	10	Cooke	
4	Coles	11	West	
5	Heaps	12	Liddiard	
6	Ungar	13	Warner	
7	Hearn			

<u>Sub-Committee Standing Chairmen:</u> (Between 3 and 5 members drawn from the membership of the Licensing Committees – currently 5)

1	Thompson
2	Shuttleworth
3	Heaps
4	No nomination made
5	No nomination made

<u>Standards Committee</u> (6 councillors and 3 independent members and to be chaired by one of the independent members.

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Tester	4	Taylor
2	Mattock	5	Liddiard
3	Harris	6	Warner
Sub	stitutes:	Su	bstitutes:
1	Wallis	1	Cooke
2	Miah	2	Murdoch

<u>Audit Committee</u> (5 councillors, not members of the Cabinet. Note, the Cabinet lead member for finance (or nominated substitute) attends in non-voting capacity). In addition, it is recommended that so far as possible there is no overlap in membership between the Audit Committee and Scrutiny Committee.

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Ungar	4	Murdoch
2	D/Ch: Thompson	5	Jenkins
3	Hearn	Su	bstitutes:
n/v	Mattock	1	West
Subs	Substitutes:		Howlett
1	Shuttleworth		
2	Miah		

#### **ADVISORY GROUPS**

**Conservation Area Advisory Group** 4 (or 3) members, not Planning Committee members, plus external advisors)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: To be advised	3	Ede
2	D/Ch: To be advised	(4)	Belsey

**Joint Staff Consultative Committee** (3 members, 2 from the controlling group and 1 from the largest opposition group, plus Staff representatives. Controlling Group's representation to include at least 1 Cabinet member. Chairmanship alternates between Employer's and Staff Sides).

Controlling Group		Opposition		
1	Ch: Tester	1	Goodyear	
2	Bannister			
Subs	Substitutes:		Substitutes:	
1	Ungar	1	Murdoch	
2	Murray	2	Warner	

#### TASK GROUPS AND OTHER BODIES:

#### **Grants Task Group** (3 members)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Mattock	3	West
2	Shuttleworth		

### **Downland Forum** (3 or 4 members)

Controlling Group			Opposition
1	Coles	3	Belsey
2	Ungar	(4)	Ede

#### **Eastbourne Homes - Non Executive Directors** (5)

Controlling Group		Opposition		
Γ	1	Tutt	4	Goodyear
	2	Mr Bert Leggett	5	Mrs Ann Murray
ſ	3	Hearn		

# **Wealden and Eastbourne Lifeline Board - Non Executive Directors** (2 councillors)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Tester	2	Howlett

#### **PROJECT BOARDS AND OTHER**

**Civil Parking** (joint with East Sussex County Council): Cllr Elkin and Mrs Rebecca Madell.

**Towner/Cultural Centre Project Board**: Cllrs Howlett and Thompson.

**Cultural Strategy Group**: Cllrs: Goodyear and Stanley

**Redoubt Museum Policy Group**: Cllrs: Stanley and Goodyear.

Devonshire Park Complex Member Board: Cllrs: Tutt, Stanley, Elkin

and Howlett.

Devonshire Park Complex Project Board: Cllrs: Howlett and Stanley.

Paradise Bike Trail: Cllrs: Heaps and Goodyear.

Princes Park Group: Cllrs: Bannister, Wallis and Stanley.

Members' IT/T-Government Board: Cllrs: Harris and Cooke

Local Development Framework (LDF) Steering Group: Cllrs: Stanley,

Tutt, Wallis, Ungar and Jenkins.

**Eastbourne Park SPD** (Supplementary Planning Document) **Steering Group** (N.B. This group may be combined with the LDF Steering Group in

the near future): Cllrs: Tutt, Wallis, Belsey and Jenkins.

**Activating Eastbourne** (formerly the Credit Crunch Task Group): Cllrs: Bannister and Elkin.

Danington and Likim

**Airbourne Strategic Board**: Cllrs: Goodyear, Liddiard, Stanley and Tutt.

Sustainable Service Delivery Strategy Board: Cllrs: Tutt and Mattock.

Solarbourne Governance Board: Cllrs: Bannister, Mattock and Wallis.

Sustainable Energy Deliver Group: Cllrs: Bannister, Mattock and Ede.

Councillors appointed to hold a Youth Brief: Cllrs: Heaps, Murray and

Liddiard.

**Disability Champion**: To be advised.

**Black and Minority Ethnic (BME) Champion**: Cllr Miah.

Heritage Champion: To be advised.

**Hospitals Champion**: Hon. Freeman Mrs Elizabeth Walke.

(der\P:council\11.05.25\schedule of group noms)